Gambia: 8 UDP Parliamentarians “Shown The Exit Door”

Mamos Media

By Ousman A. Marong

The Senior Administrative body of the United Democratic Party (UDP) has expelled eight of its National Assembly members (NAM) from the party.

The expelled NAMs are as follows, Fatoumatta K. Jawara of Tallinding Constituency; Saikouba Jarju of Busumbula Constituency; Saikou Marong of Latrikunda Sabiji; Baba Galleh Jallow of Brufut Constituency; Abdoulie Ceesay of Old Yundum Constituency; Omar Darboe of Upper Numi; Benni Tunkara of Kantora; and Alhagie Jawara of Lower Baddibu respectively.

MAMOS TV received a letter purportedly signed by the Party Regional Chairpersons from each constituency which the expelled NAMs represent in the Parliament. The reason for their expulsion the party as indicated in the letter is that the above listed NAMs have distanced themselves from the party.

The letter further indicates that these NAMs had deliberately refused to take part in the party’s activities for several months.

The letter also stated that the said parliamentarians have switched allegiance to President Adama Barrow and his political movements; “the Barrow Youth Movement” and the “Barrow Fans Club”.

“For this and other reasons that are obvious to us the National Executive Committee of the party acting under Article 11 (3b) and (3c) of the constitution of the party has revoked to expel you from the party with immediate effect,” the letter concludes.

leave a reply