IEC declares 2 councilors elected

Mamos Media

According to Section 53 (1) (a) of the electoral laws, Sainey Jarjou of Kusamai Ward and Tumani B. Trawally of Kachang Ward have been duly elected councilors for their various wards, the Independent Commission has announced Tuesday, saying they were the only ones nominated in their various wards at the close of nomination without oppositions.

Four hundred and seven candidates are expected to contest in the 12th April 2018 local government elections, the commission added in a press release.

It added that the closing of nominations was March17, 2018, and public scrutiny on March 18, 2018.

“Four hundred and nine (409) candidate nomination papers were accepted and endorsed by the Returning Officers in all the seven Administrative Areas.”

Therefore, the release added that in accordance with Section 53 (2) (a) of the Election Act, elections will be held on Thursday 12th of April 2018.

All campaigns will begin on Wednesday 21st of March 2018 and end on Wednesday 10th April 2018, the IEC said. 

leave a reply