UDP Primaries rescheduled

Mamos Media

The Mayoral and Chairperson Primaries for for UDP Ticket are rescheduled to Sunday 11th February 2018.

The UDP National Executive has decided to focus only on the Councillor primaries this weekend in order to better prepare for the mayoral and chairperson primaries next weekend.

The following local government areas will now go to primaries to select their candidates: Kanifing, Brikama, Mansakonko, Kerewan, Janjanbureh and Basse. There is single candidate in Kuntaur and Banjul respectively. There was consensus in Kuntaur and the second candidate in Banjul, Mr Hallah Samba had withdrawn from the race for the UDP ticket.

In Kanifing, there are eight aspirants, two disqualified, Brikama, five aspirants, two withdrawn, Mansakonko, ten aspirants, all in the race, Kerewan, seven aspirants, one disqualified and one withdrawn, Kuntaur, four aspirants, three withdrawn, Janjanbureh and Basse five and two aspirants respectively no withdrawal.

Meanwhile, IEC has made changes in the dates of elections. Councillor elections remained on the 12th April 2018 whilst the Mayoral and Chairperson elections would now be on the 12 May 2018.

UDP National Executive wishes to thank all the party members and supporters for their keen interest and participation in the candidate selection processes and call on all to uphold the spirit of unity and brotherhood in this great party.

leave a reply